A note from our Ag Communications Award Winner :)

March 21, 2011 at 11:44 am Leave a comment

Thanks to Jami Willard for sharing her experience at last year’s Agriculture’s Promise event:

I will admit that last year’s Agriculture’s Promise program was a little intense for me. One reason was because there were so many interesting people to meet, and so much fascinating information to take in. It was also my second time visiting our nation’s capital, and the first time I went there with a real goal besides seeing Mr. Lincoln and the National Monument. I knew there were issues in our agriculture system and policy, but never before in my life had a congressional aid ask me what I thought about them. It was a little overwhelming in a great way. I found out first hand that that I have a voice, and realized how big of a difference I could make. The experience last year changed my life. Changing the world has always been a goal of mine, and now I know of a way that I can help make this world a better place.

Since Agriculture’s Promise 2010 I have been on a quest for knowledge. Talking to producers and going to meetings are a favorite of mine, but this year I have had a goal in mind. In April when I arrive in DC I will have specific issues in mind to address that I know will directly affect the future of my industry. When sitting across from a congressional aid this year to talk about issues I know that back home my best friend will have a better chance of starting the successful farm of her dreams because I took the time to be an Agvocate.

– Jami Willard

Agriculture’s Promise will be held April 10th – 12th at the Gaylord National in Washington D.C. For more information on Agriculture’s Promise, visit http://agriculturespromise.com.

Entry filed under: Agriculture's Promise 2010, Agriculture's Promise 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Our 40th Farm Photo Friday! Happy National Teach Ag Day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Connect with us!

Watch us on YouTube!Connect with us on Twitter!Find us on Facebook!

Twitter Feed

Past posts

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

