“We’ve come a long way.”

February 14, 2011 at 11:14 am Leave a comment

Ran across this post from Jennifer Blackburn Photography & loved it:

Recently, my grandmother found an old photo that really caused me to think. The picture below was taken in 1929 on my family’s farm where my parents and grandparents still live today. In the photo is my great-grandparents Barney and Zona Blackburn and my great-uncle Austin Blackburn when he was only a baby. My grandfather wasn’t even born at the time.

They are harvesting milo, and because I work at National Sorghum Producers, I found this picture to be particularly special to me. As long as I can remember, my family has grown grain sorghum. Little did I know it has been an important crop on my family’s farm for almost 100 years.

A lot has changed since that time. My family has acquired more land and has grown with technology. Fortunately, we no longer must dump the grain into a horse pulled wagon. Regardless, when I think about the tradition my family has had in farming, I find it will be hard to ever give that land up if it is up to me one day. I’m proud to be a farmer’s daughter and know I would not be where I am today without that upbringing.

It’s snowy, cold, windy and bitter today, but when I called my dad early this morning to tell him I had a frozen pipe, I knew exactly what he was doing – breaking ice, feeding cows, caring for newborn baby lambs…maybe not with a smile on his face but with a smile in his heart. He’s one of the most selfless people I know who cares for his family, his land, his stock, and subsequently the people he feeds every day.

Pray for a farmer today. They don’t get snow days.



Great-grandparents Barney and Zone Blackburn with son Austin, harvesting milo in 1929.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Our 35th Farm Photo Friday! Ag Issues for the Next Generation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Connect with us!

Watch us on YouTube!Connect with us on Twitter!Find us on Facebook!

Twitter Feed

Past posts

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

