Farmer’s Creed

July 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm 1 comment

Today’s guest blogger, Reba Underwood, provides us with the Farmer’s Creed, written for the New Holland Machinery in 1975. She edited it to make it more inclusive, adding that the creed stands true for farmers and ranchers alike. Let us know your creed in the comments below!

Farmer and Ranchers Creed

I believe a man’s greatest possession in his dignity and that no calling bestows this more abundantly than farming and ranching.


I believe hard work and honest sweat are the building blocks of a person’s character.


I believe that farming and ranching, despite their hardships and disappointments, are the most honest and honorable ways a man can spend his days on this Earth.


I believe farming and ranching nurtures the close family ties that makes life rich in ways money can’t buy.


I believe my children are learning values that will last a lifetime and can be learned no other way.


I believe farming and ranching provides education for life and that no other occupation teaches so much about birth, growth and maturity in such a variety of ways.


I believe many of the best things in life are indeed free: the splendor of a sunrise, the rapture of wide open spaces, the exhilarating sight of your and greening each sprint.


I believe that true happiness comes from watching your crops ripen in the field, your calves taking their first steps, your children growing tall in the sun, your whole family feeling the pride that springs from their shared experience.


I believe that by my toil I am giving more to the world than I am taking from it, an honor that does not come to all men.


I believe my life will be measured ultimately by what I have done for my fellow man, and by this standard I fear no judgment.


I believe when a man grows old and sums up his days, he should be able to stand tall and feel pride in the life he’s lives.


I believe in farming and ranching, because it makes this all possible.

This was written for New Holland Machinery, 1975, author unknown.

– I added the words “and ranchers” to each line, because I believe that this creed shines true for both sides of agriculture. i also added the phrase “your calves taking their first steps.” –

We all know that farming and ranching has changed a lot over the past century. Farmers and ranchers have gone from riding horseback and walking behind plows, to driving sports cars and sitting in tractors that can practically drive themselves.

This poem made me wonder, What would the new farmers creed say?

Would it perhaps say something about feeding and clothing the world, over priced goods, hauling expenses, lack of money, technology, terminology, disease, procrastinating, and waiting?

What is your creed??

Entry filed under: Guest Bloggers, Uncategorized.

Federal Money Available to cut California agricultural air pollution Our 4th Farm Photo Friday!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Connect with us!

Watch us on YouTube!Connect with us on Twitter!Find us on Facebook!

Twitter Feed

Past posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

